How Many People Do You Know Who Live In A World Of Broken Dreams?

Unknown-27

I wouldn’t describe myself as living life in the fast lane. My interpretation of the characteristics that come to mind when I think of “fast lane” living are incongruent with what I want for myself. Perhaps my interpretation is wrong, but isn’t that ultimately a self-destructive life style?

A thousand years ago, I remember the song written especially for Ray Price and the Cherokee Cowboys. It was entitled, “The Night Life”. I bought the album. It was entitled the same. Ray Price’s introduction to the song is part of the recording:

“Well, Hi, neighbors

It is sundown at our house

As we make this new Columbia album for you

We want to thank you for bein’ so nice on our last album

It was wonderful the way you accepted it

And, tonight, we’ve chosen some of the songs that we

Sing and play on our dances across the country

Songs that reflect the emotions

Of the people that live in the night life

Songs of happiness, sadness, heartbreak

Songs of the night life

And we hope that you enjoy yourself tonight

As you listen to our latest one

This first song was written especially for me

By a boy from down in Texas way

And it’s accepted so good on our dances

We hope you like it

It’s a little different from what we normally do

But we hope it will be pleasing to you

So, me and the Cherokee Cowboys

Are knockin’ on your record player once more

And we hope that you can just kind of sit back

Kick off your shoes

And relax just a little bit

And listen to our latest album

And if you like it, tell us about it, won’t you

And we’ll try to do more things for you

The way we’re doin’ this one…

When the evenin’ sun goes down

You will find me hangin’ ’round

Oh, the night life ain’t no good life

But it’s my life

“Many people just like me

Dreaming of old used-to-be

Oh, the night life ain’t no good life

But it’s my life

Chorus:

Well, listen to the blues they’re playin’

Yeah, listen to what the blues are sayin’

Mine is just another scene

From the world of broken dreams

Oh, the night life ain’t no good life

But it’s my life

Yeah”

How many people do you know who live in a world of broken dreams? Is that one of the defining characteristics of “fast lane” living? Maybe – Maybe not? I’d be the last to describe my life by saying “it ain’t no good life.” Heartache and disappointment are not the companions I carry with me in the pursuit of making the most of my days and enjoying all that life brings. My life is good. I probably could say, “I wouldn’t change a thing”, but does that exempt me from some variation of “fast lane” living?

I recently ran across a lyric from another song defining “fast lane” living that hit a little close to home:

Living life in the fast lane Moving at the speed of life and I can’t slow down

Only got a gallon in the gas tank But I’m almost at the finish line So I can’t

stop now I don’t really know where I’m headed Just enjoying the ride Just

gon’ roll til I drop and ride ‘til I die

I’m living life in the fast lane (Pedal to the metal)

I’m living life in the fast lane (Pedal to the metal)”

“Living life in the fast lane Moving at the speed of life and I can’t slow down…” My life is wonderfully full, but it is completely scheduled with a myriad of obligations and activities. I move from one self-imposed “to do list” to the second without even catching my breath. I tell myself that I prefer impromptu living, but the truth is I don’t really live that way. I simply fantasize that I live that way. I don’t have the luxury of choosing to do something unplanned because my time is already obligated.

A friend recently told me, ‘“No” is a complete sentence.” I’m still giving that some thought.

In recent weeks I’ve been experiencing intermittent back pain in my upper back. Actually, had the pain been in my chest, I’d have thought heart attack. I even had the thought, “Could it be a backwards heart attack?” I ruled that out.

At any rate, continuing to do nothing didn’t seem like a particularly good option. In uncharacteristic fashion, I opted to try acupuncture. When I went for the appointment, I was surprised that they checked my blood pressure and pulse rate. My blood pressure reportedly was a little high, but my pulse rate was about a thousand beats a minute (okay, I’m exaggerating). I wasn’t concerned. My pulse is always fast. That’s just the way I roll.

Pardon the pun, but the acupuncture experience was a little like “being on pins and needles”. After the first thirty minutes, my blood pressure was lower and my pulse rate had diminished radically. Over the next thirty minutes while I was facing downward with my back and legs filled with needles, I had the thought that this was the first time I could remember doing nothing during waking hours except being still and being lost in thought. Truthfully, had it not been from the sense that I’d become a human pin cushion, I’d probably have opted to not be still.

I think I’ll orchestrate some down time today and see how that feels.

All My Best!

Don

Leave a Reply

