Rainy Days And Mondays Get Me Down

rainy days

Have you ever awakened with the thought, “It’s going to be one of those days?”  I’m not sure that was my first thought this morning, but I did awaken with a sense of “I’m already behind.”  I should have set my alarm for 4:00 a.m., but I opted to leave it at 5:00.  I really thought I’d wake up early, but I didn’t.  I went to bed last night without giving thought to my daily blog.  I’m usually awake by 4:15 or 4:30. I obviously believed that I’d have time before I left for work.

When I awakened with the alarm at 5:00, I had the sense that “I’ve got to rush”.  On my way to work I needed to drop off some floor samples I’d picked up at a flooring place on Friday.  They showed me where to leave them outside their showroom if I returned them outside regular business hours.  The flooring company was out of the way in terms of a direct route to work, but Monday morning was the best time for me. Besides that, traffic early on Monday would be minimal.

I was showered, dressed and almost out the door by 5:30.  Without thinking, I opened my email.  It proved not to be the best way for me to start my day.  I had a message from a friend suggesting something I needed to do today. I mumbled to myself,  “Okay, I’ll add that to my list.  I’m already behind schedule anyway.”  Actually, I had the thought, “This wasn’t even my idea and now it’s my responsibility.”

Not long ago a friend said to me, “I’m sharing this with you because you haven’t figured it out.  But in case you’re wondering, the word ‘No’ is a complete sentence.  You need to use it more often.”  I let that roll around in my head a minute.  Yesterday someone else suggested something that I needed to do.  Honestly, I don’t know how I’d make it without the added structure and direction I routinely receive from others.  Most of the time the General takes on that task, but any number of other folks routinely offer assistance.  Throw in another person or two and presto, “My plate is full.”

I put my brief case and computer in the car and came back inside the house to get my coffee.  I then decided I was hungry.  It would only take 45 seconds to make oatmeal.  I could scarf it down in no time.  It was worth the extra five minutes.  I opted to add milk to the mix rather than water.  It makes the oatmeal  tastier.

Out of nowhere the General appeared.  I was surprised that she was awake. I asked why she was up so early.  She responded, “I let Barnabas outside at 3:30 and I didn’t go back to sleep.  I have a thousand things to do today so I thought I’d get started.”   She opened the refrigerator and then shut the door.  She then asked, “Is there a reason you didn’t drink all of the milk?  You should have finished off that container.”  I didn’t verbalize it, but “Yes dear” came to mind.  Isn’t that the formula for conflict reduction and the key to a happy marriage?

It wasn’t a bad idea. I like milk.  The General never drinks it.  I reopened the refrigerator and took out the quart size container of milk.  She was right, “I should have finished off the container”. I took off the cap and drank the milk out of jug.  I was shocked to hear the words, “That is the most disgusting thing I’ve ever seen.”  Give me a break.  I drank the milk.  Okay, enough is enough.  I was on my way out the door.

Not so fast, she opened the refrigerator again and took out a container of soup I’d bought at the grocery store a couple of weeks ago. I thought I was purchasing potato soup, but one of the containers was some variation of corn soup.  “Are you going to eat this or do you want to throw it away?”  Okay, okay, I’ll put it in the trash can in the garage.  I’m sure my body language didn’t suggest that the song, “Oh, What a Wonderful Morning” was rolling around in my head.

I was almost out the door when I heard her ask, “Did you give me all of the receipts from the weekend?”  She is a detailed person.  We always pay the Visa card off monthly, but she likes to deduct it from the checkbook as we go along.  Consequently, she wants the receipts. “Okay, Okay, I’ll look in my wallet”.  Would I ever make it out the door?  I was beginning to wonder.

I found the receipt, provided it for her records and did an about-face and headed again for the door.  “What about the thing you were going to take back to Home Depot?  Do you want to take it with you now?”  I’m sure I articulated the word “Sure” with a sense of exasperation as I took the purchase off the kitchen counter.  I had purchased the only size pop-up-stopper for the bathroom sink that they had available at Home Depot.  It was ¼ inch too large.  Could you have told by looking?  I couldn’t.  The General could. In fact, she told me I was getting the wrong size when I pick it up at Home Depot yesterday.  I guess I should learn to listen more closely.

Finally I was off.  This time music from the Carpenters was rolling around in my head.  I could hear the words to Rainy Days and Mondays Get Me Down.  Do you remember the lyrics?

“Talkin’ to myself and feelin’ old     Sometimes I’d like to quit     Nothing ever seems to fit     Hangin’ around Nothing to do but frown     Rainy Days and Mondays always get me down.

“What I’ve got they used to call the blues      Nothin’ is really wrong Feelin’ like I don’t belong      Walkin’ around Some kind of lonely clown      Rainy Days and Mondays always get me down”.

I was almost to work when my phone rang. It was the General.  Her voice was pleasant. She asked, “Did you stop by the church and put those clothes in a bag and place them outside the door like I asked you to last night?”  She obviously wasn’t surprised with my answer.  She responded, “Thanks.  I would have bet money on it.”

Maybe rainy days and Mondays get me down.

All My Best!

Don

2 thoughts on “Rainy Days And Mondays Get Me Down”

  1. At the risk of joining the good folks around you, I would like to direct your attention to a comment and quote in today’s blog. For the record, I was not the friend that provided the quote.

    “”Not long ago a friend said to me, “I’m sharing this with you because you haven’t figured it out. But in case you’re wondering, the word ‘No’ is a complete sentence. You need to use it more often.” I let that roll around in my head a minute.”‘

    Hopefully, it continues to roll around in your head versus you allowing it to fall out. Sure, this might be labeled as “butting into your business.” but I will risk it as I value you as a friend. It will be difficult at first, but you must learn to say “No” to taking on more and more. I know you can do it and mean well; however, it is not healthy for you and it is not healthy for the person asking. Others need to learn to do things and to take care of business on their own. You are not a “one man” show (I do not say that with malice). There are a couple of ways to view some of the things you are asked to do. (1) Is the person asking you to do the task capable of doing it? If so, why are they asking you to do it? (2) What would happen or who would do it if you were not around? (3) Who is going to do it when you are no longer here to ask? Could you have coached them regarding the task (taught them to fish) versus doing it (feeding them for the day).

    I am reminded of past times when I supervised staff. I had to learn that if I was always doing the the other person’s tasks or things they could do, the agency did not need both of us. Is this true in your life. I know you are needed as I have called on you to do a few things I could not do. I will assume that persons asking you to do things versus them doing the tasks are also needed. I believe we all have a purpose.

    I know you take on additional things because you are a great individual and you do not want to disappoint anyone. I also know that you may be asked to do things because you are a great individual. Also, I know some people will ask you to do it as long as you accept their request to do it. “Just say NO” could work for you. You will still be the same great person–just not so over-worked.

    Slow down a bit so you can enjoy life, not activities. Okay, I have meddled in your business enough. Have a better Tuesday through the rest of the week, month, year, and life! LDH

    Like

Leave a Reply

