There Is A Time For Everything

Unknown-26

Life seemed simpler and more restful before folks opted to tinker with the time. I don’t know about you, but the adjustment to coming off daylight savings time is interfering with my sleeping pattern.  On the other hand, maybe I should be grateful.  Isn’t it true that at some point what most of us want is more time?  The past several days I’ve discovered I’ve got more time.  For whatever reason, my body is acclimated to getting up on daylight savings time and I subsequently turn off the light at night on regular time.  Do the math.  I now have an extra hour of awake-time.

The concept of time surfaces in many daily expressions.  It is always a feel good when you can say, “We really had a good time.”  Even the concept of “being ahead of one’s time” seemly has a positive connotation.  The flip side of that is being “behind the times” which carries the concept of being a day late and a dollar short or the fact that you don’t fit in.  What about the expression, “Better luck next time?”  I’ve heard the expression, “We had a devil of a time”, but I’m not really sure what that means.

The concept of “time to kill” or the need to “pass the time” carries with it a sense of boredom or lack of productivity.  How about the phrase, “It is about time?”  I’d link that concept to being critical or punitive rather than joyful.  I always cringe at church when I overhear one member say to another, “It about time you showed up”. Ouch!  It is time we get it right related to the need to be affirming rather than critical.

As I sit at my computer, the thought of “Somewhere In Time” automatically fills my head with the incredible music.  Someone has called the soundtrack “music for the soul”.  Perhaps it is.  I only saw the movie once and yet the soundtrack is now playing in my head. The score was written by John Barry.  He also wrote the score to “Dances With Wolves.” Both movies were a good investment of time if you watched them.

“Time to hit the road” or “time to call it a night” both seem cloaked with the concept that it is “time to move on.”  I guess sooner or later one reaches the point that “running out of time” is inevitable.  In fact, many live with the sense they are on borrowed time.

It reality, isn’t it true that time is a gift graciously given by another and beyond our deserving?  So how do we make the most of our time?  At the end of the day…or at the end of life, I want my life to count for something more than simply wasting time.

My little younger brother is both a mentor and friend.  He called me yesterday morning around 6:00 a.m. and wanted to know if I was at work.  Apparently, he is also currently operating on daylight savings time even if he does live in Oklahoma,  I’ve either heard it said, or perhaps I have said it myself, “Isn’t Oklahoma fifty years behind the time?”  (Sorry folks – I couldn’t help myself – Anything to rib my little younger brother).

Actually, my brother had a knee replacement on Monday.  That makes him a step beyond me.  Maybe I am the one behind the times.  I figure, at my age, “If it doesn’t hurt, it doesn’t work”.  I never thought about having it replaced. My younger brother is 65-years old.  Wow!  I’m not asking, but what does that say about me?  I guess the long and short of it is that “time is short.”

My younger brother and I talked about time yesterday.  He is the one who approached the subject of using our time wisely.  My hat is off to him.  He has a sense of calling and he is adamant to make the most of “his time” and the opportunities that come his way.  His is the gift of encouragement and he gives it away on a daily basis.  He lives with the notion that people need a boost.  Why not help people realize that “time is everything” and that tomorrow doesn’t have to look like yesterday?  Time carries with it the concept of hope.  My brother’s calling in life is simply providing others affirmation and encouragement.  That carries with it the connotation of a “loving father” rather than a “critical parent”.  I would say it is a good use of time.

Having the privilege of sharing time with people who “build you up” rather than try to “tear you down” is always time well spent.  Shared time with my brother is valuable time because the life lessons associated to encouragement always pay dividends associated to joy and hopefulness. I need to try to remember to be like him.

All My Best!

Don

One thought on “There Is A Time For Everything”

  1. Don,
    This part of your blog today, really hit me like a ton of bricks!

    My brother’s calling in life is simply providing others affirmation and encouragement. That carries with it the connotation of a “loving father” rather than a “critical parent”. I would say it is a good use of time.
    Having the privilege of sharing time with people who “build you up” rather than try to “tear you down” is always time well spent.

    My youngest son Preston Travis is now 39 years old, still single and it looks like he plans on staying that way for the rest of his life! He & I are so much alike in so many ways and then totally opposites in other ways. Due to my yearning for him to be the best that he can be, I’ve turned into a “critical parent” but I love my son dearly! Our relationship is strained to say the least, I may need some advice on how to be that “Loving Parent” and not be the “Critical Parent”.
    Kind Regards,
    Gary Travis

    Like

Leave a Reply

