Christmas Music

12376209_10208506978057064_4353899233726884432_n.jpg

Early yesterday afternoon, I filled the cassette on the CD player with Christmas music. The General and I were hosting an open house with folks from church. Consequently, I thought seasonal background music would be appropriate.   Of course, when I mentioned the open house to someone on Saturday, they expressed surprise. They responded: “I didn’t know you were selling your house.” “If we’re selling the house, then that makes two of us”, I replied. I then explained the open house was simply a block of time for folks to stop by to visit with one another and enjoy refreshments and conversation.

For the most part, I’m not a fan of Christmas music. I won’t go into a litany of reasons to justify my preferences, but I distance myself from most of the traditional stuff I grew up singing as a kid. For that matter, I distance myself from most of the Christmas songs made popular by recording artists. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve got nothing against Andy Williams, but “It’s the most wonderful time of the year” doesn’t resonate as true for me. Consequently, it doesn’t appear on my “Top Ten List” of Christmas songs. Actually, my list of favorite Christmas songs is a lot shorter than ten. I’d do good to come up with more than three.

I’m really not the Grinch who stole Christmas. I love the reason for the season and I love the message of Christmas, but the flurry of activity and the resultant stress level seems to contradict the concept of peace. Didn’t the angel say: “Glory to God in the highest heaven, and on earth peace to those on whom his favor rest?”

If I were to pick a favorite Christmas song for me, it would be a toss up between Pentatonix’s “Mary Did You Know” written by Mark Lowry and Buddy Green and “It Won’t Be The Same This Year” written and recorded by Vince Gill.

Let me share the lyrics of both songs for your consideration. I’d be interested to know what you think. Would you pick one song over then other and if so, which song?

Mary Did You Know

“Mary did you know that your baby boy will one day walk on water?

Mary did you know that your baby boy will save our sons and daughters?

Did you know that your baby boy has come to make you new?

This child that you’ve delivered, will soon deliver you.

 

Mary did you know that your baby boy will give sight to a blind man?

Mary did you know that your baby boy will calm the storm with his hand?

Did you know that your baby boy has walked where angels trod?

And when you kiss your little baby, you kissed the face of God.

 

Mary did you know (x8)

The blind will see, the deaf will hear, the dead will live again.

The lame will leap, the dumb will speak, the praises of the lamb.

 

Mary did you know that your baby boy is Lord of all creation?

Mary did you know that your baby boy will one day rule the nations?

Did you know that your baby boy is heaven’s perfect Lamb?

That sleeping child you’re holding is the great I am

 

Mary did you know (x6)”

 

It Want Be The Same This Year

 

It’s time to pack our bags and hit the highway,

And head on out for Christmas holiday,

I’ll fall apart when I pull in the driveway,

It’s my first time home since brother passed away,

His favorite time of year was always Christmas,

We’ll reminisce about the days gone by,

Oh how I wish that he was still here with us,

My memories with him will never die,

(bridge)

But when the stockings are hung,

And silent night has been sung,

And Christmas is finally here,

It won’t be the same this year,

Losing my big brother hurt so badly,

It’s help me learn what Christmas really means,

There’s nothing more important then your family,

We’re all the children of the king of kings,

(bridge)

Yesterday’s open house proved to be a very enjoyable experience for us. Treva and I like having folks in our home. I know from my connection with many of those attending that: “It’s the most wonderful time of the year” isn’t a true reflection of their life experiences. Yet in the midst of circumstance, they have captured the peace of Christmas. Hopefully, you have as well.

Seriously, if you favor one song over the other, I’d be interested to know.

All My Best!

Don

Mary Did You Know?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ifCWN5pJGIE

It Want Be The Same This Year

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SQEBDM-FQmg

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Christmas Music”

  1. Vince Gill, love him. I do know & understand your feelings for the Christmas season. You shared those feelings with me a few years ago. After reading about all the Christmas decor Treva is doing, I thought maybe you had come to accept some of the Christmas cheer, not to meantion the sorrow you bare. Love abounds.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Shirley –
      I am good and cherish the reason for the season – Love abounds indeed! The first time I heard, “It Want Be The Same This Year”, I knew it was more than a song. Since that time, it is one Christmas album that gets played every year.

      Like

Leave a Reply

