A Penny For Your Thoughts – My Life As A Consultant

images.jpeg

The General and I had a great day yesterday. That’s not to say part of it wasn’t stressful.  I had a work related commitment near Brenham last night. Consequently, we opted for an early start on Saturday and went to Sealy to watch Jenna and Jake, our oldest and youngest grandchildren, play basketball. Fortunately, (my value judgment) William opted to steer clear of basketball. He plays soccer, baseball, and football. Basketball doesn’t interest him (that may be in his DNA). Of course, William was at the games yesterday. He postured himself on a top bleacher and was content to be lost in the world of reading. I like his approach, “Why waste time when you can invest it in reading?”

Did I mention having Jenna, William & Jake within easy access is absolutely delightful? When the General and I discussed it Friday night, both of us admitted it feels like it’s been months since we last saw them. However, in reality, it had only been a month.

When they lived on the West Coast or the East Coast, we mostly saw them through Skype. In terms of face-to-face huggable experiences, we generally were limited to about three contacts annually. Having the kids (and their parents) a stone’s throw away has opened many doors in terms of sharing familial time together.

When it comes to sports, I am not a big sports enthusiast. In fact, I haven’t yet decided if I’m investing the time later today to watch the Super Bowl or not. However, I did watch the TCU win over Oregon and found the second half of that game of greatest interest. In fact, it was enough to make me wonder if I’ve missed out on something I should have had a greater interest in enjoying. My brother-in-law in Florida once told me I needed to closely follow football. He said it would make me a better pastor. I was a little perplexed by the recommendation, but I opted to let it go the way of much of the advice that comes my way. It may have been a great idea, but it fell on deaf ears.

Perhaps it is true that sports can add a dimension of excitement to life. For that matter, so can driving a car 100 mph. However, that affirmation is a very distant memory. Obviously, back in the day, I had guardian angels working overtime. I’ve heard that now driving 100 mph is a lot like playing Monopoly. If you get stopped, you get to go to jail free. Getting out of jail is a little more expensive.

Jenna was scheduled for an 8:00 a.m. game and a 10:00 a.m. game. Jake’s game was scheduled for 11:00 a.m. In order for us to get to the game by 8:00 a.m., we would have needed to leave the house by 5:00 a.m. or drive 100 mph. I love my grandkids, but like I said, I’m not a big sports enthusiast. Why forfeit sleep? Driving over 100 mph is out of the question. That wasn’t going to happen.

The General needs a sedative to quietly tolerate my driving. Although I’m sure that’s a true statement, it is strictly based on theory. I have absolutely no first hand experience to substantiate that it really works. I don’t remember a time that the General has ever quietly tolerated my driving. I think she considers telling me how to drive one of her Spiritual gifts. All I’ve got to say is that, she’s good at it.

Yesterday morning, for whatever reason, she was fearful that I was going to fall asleep. Since sleep apnea is one of my diagnosed physical maladies, I understand her concern. However, if she really thought my driving was putting us at risk, she could have chosen to drive. All I can say to that is, “She’d rather die telling me to keep my eyes open than to utter the sound, “Why don’t you let me drive?”

Of course, she did her part in attempting to orchestrate meaningful conversation. She seriously asked, “So what do you want to do in retirement?” Where did that question come from?  It was a question that didn’t get much of a response from me. Actually, my only response was a three-word-sentence. I truthfully answered, “I don’t know”.  My answer didn’t set particularly well with the General. I figure if she wants to talk, why not talk about something I’m familiar with and have some sense of perspective. I have absolutely no frame of reference to “the new me” and the “life after work” persona. Maybe I’m not tired of the old me yet.

The General obviously wanted the conversation to go on forever. “You could be a consultant” were the next words to come out of her mouth. I opted not to suggest I could be a resource person to teach others how to install a thermostat on their HACV systems. If you’ve been reading my blog, you know how well that worked out for me.  Already, the General questions the amount of time I spend writing nonsense on the computer. Can you imagine what it would be like to have extra ten-to-eleven hours a day at my disposal? Seriously, don’t you have to know something to be a consultant? Perhaps the General is my biggest fan! She obviously thinks I have more going for me that reality dictates.

I have a friend who is probably twenty years younger than I am. He recently said, “I am so grateful to have a job. Every other person my age who previously worked in the oil business now find themselves out of work.”

At any rate, time shared with grandchildren (and their parents) was the obvious fix we both needed. Although it had only been a month since we last saw them, the time allotted us yesterday went by way too quickly. Already we are looking forward to the next time.

All My Best!

Don

One thought on “A Penny For Your Thoughts – My Life As A Consultant”

  1. Would be interesting to see how many of your followers make suggestions on what to do when you retire. Suggestions of others is just that. It is your life, all you need to do is come up with a plan that both you & Treva would be comfortable with. I think maybe you already have plans in mind, just choose one, doesn’t have to be permanent, There is always other ones to try. Good luck.

    Like

Leave a Reply

