It’s Only Cough Syrup

Unknown-22.jpeg

I mentioned yesterday that I am not a sports enthusiast. With the exception of watching my grandkids play ball, I’d opt for shared time with a good book in a quiet place free from distractions before I’d opt for a spectator sport. Stadium seating or any other sports venue would not add that “something extra” to my life.

 

I don’t need a tailgate party in a stadium parking lot or a box seat at the top of the grandstand. Interestingly, my alma mater didn’t have a football team when I was in college. Maybe I’m fortunate. I know people my age who went to colleges that did.  Today they eat, drink, and live for the opportunity to cheer on their college team.

 

After all, isn’t it a badge of successful attainment to have the same season tickets in one’s family for the past two-to-three generations?  I know what you’re thinking. You’re thinking that I am the one who is strange. Okay, I’ll own it. I am strange.

 

Out of curiosity, I checked Google yesterday for: “What’s trending now?” That, too, may be a little strange. I quickly scanned two or three items before the term “purple drank” caught my attention. I’d never heard the term before, but apparently a Dallas Cowboy linebacker didn’t show up for training camp in California earlier this week. The “no show” player was once considered one of the NFL’s most talented young defensive players. Reportedly issues off the field have derailed his career. Rumor has it that he may never play for the Cowboys again. Add a purple drank addiction to a professional football team and you’ve got a caustic mix. It doesn’t work.

 

Checking farther, one headline read: “Purple Drank – A Deadly Cocktail In the Hip Hop Community”. I obviously don’t get out much. I’d never heard of purple drank before and if asked me for a definition of hip hop, I’d also be at a loss for words. I don’t know “hip hop” from “roll over”. For that matter, you can throw in the term “play dead”. Only with purple drank, you may not be playing.

 

What will we think up next? Don’t we already have enough ways to destroy ourselves? Purple Drank is a mixture of a prescription cold medication with a soda drink like Sprite or Mountain Dew. Add ice and you’ve got more than enough to do yourself in. Reportedly, Purple Drank is most often served in a Styrofoam cup. Are you kidding me? Nothing tastes good in a Styrofoam cup.

 

If you want to add color and sweetness to your created beverage for taste, throw Jolly Rancher candies in the mix. However, I’ve got to warn you, reportedly the Dallas Cowboy linebacker who didn’t show up for training camp had gained 40 pounds.

 

So what can one expect from a Styrofoam cup full of purple drank? To be on the unsafe side, the cold medication should contain promethazine (an antihistamine) and codeine. Reportedly, the combination of these ingredients makes a purple liquid that is then sipped until euphoria and dissociation from one’s body occur. These effects will last between three and six hours.

 

My question is this: “Why would anyone want to be dissociated from their body?”  That adds a whole new concept to the term “getting out of the house”.  Reportedly, it is common for the high associated with this combination to be called a “swooning euphoria”.  The combination also has a sedative effect and makes a person “woozy”.  I don’t get it. I struggle with Sleep Apnea. It is all I can do to stay awake under the best of circumstances. Why would I want to get a little woozy?

 

“There are other effects of Purple Drank abuse that are not so sought-after.

Effects of Purple Drank include:

  • Constricted pupils that do not respond well to light
  • Rough, raspy voice
  • Slow, slurred speech
  • Uncontrolled eye movement
  • Droopy eyes
  • Slowed heart rate
  • Drowsiness
  • Loss of balance
  • Loss of coordination
  • Paleness
  • Constipation
  • Urinary tract infection
  • Dental problems
  • Addiction”

 

To add insult to injury, Houston, Texas is credited as the locale of origin for the concoction. Apparently it has been around since the 1960s.  Don’t you know that adds a whole new dimension to the term Houston proud?

 

Most of us, probably aren’t at risk to go on a purple drank binge in order to get that something extra out of life. But what about some of the other things we embrace? Could they also be a form of self-destructive behavior?  What we’re doing may not have the capacity to kill, but it could have the capacity to capture our attention and become the craze that derails our life. It all gets back to setting priorities.  For example, we could become obsessed with working out and staying healthy.  Consequently, we opt for the gym over time shared with important people in our lives.  What about the single parent who needs a break from the responsibilities of parenting?  How often can you be away before your children sense abandonment.  What about the avid blogger who forfeits sleep to meet his deadline?  The possibilities are endless.  If we miss the purpose of our being from being preoccupied elsewhere, we fall short of what could have been.

 

All My Best!

Don

2 thoughts on “It’s Only Cough Syrup”

  1. Purple drink is new to me also. You wonder how someone can do things to their body. I have been clean since the mid 80’s. Why did I start, I was trying to escape from what I thought was not a miserable existence. The only time I ever felt good was when I was high. Getting addicted on drugs is a means of escape. I stopped drinking and then worked to become clean. Believe me, that was much harder, but I finally did. Using drugs creep up on you before you realize it drugs have taken control.

    Like

Leave a Reply

