Managing The Cold

IMG_5162.JPG

They say that people who live in glass houses shouldn’t throw stones. Our house isn’t totally glass, but the back of the house is mostly glass. When we were picking out our building site, we wanted to take advantage of the view. Consequently, the back of the house provides an incredible view. We have a neighbor who lives about a mile away. I like to tell him that we look down on him.

 

I’m a sucker for a sale. Before I purchase anything, I prefer not to pay full price. At one time I found a telescope at Pottery Barn that had a really great look. When it eventually went on sale, I bought it. The telescope actually worked, but it was far from top of the line. Actually, in reality it was far from being a real telescope, but it looked authentic. At any rate, I positioned it in our home where it looked as though my favorite past time was viewing the neighbor’s home a mile away. There is nothing like keeping people wondering.

 

Like most of the stuff in our home, we’ve had it for years. That is one of the reasons that the General is on a roll. We are getting rid of the stuff that we don’t use or need. I’m sure the folks at Goodwill dread to see us coming.  We still have the telescope, but for the life of me, I can’t recall where it is currently stored. It was on the sun porch, but I moved it for some reason. Maybe it was the need to position the Christmas tree in that location over a year ago.

 

At any rate, when I got home from work yesterday it was impossible to tell that we live in a glass house or have any proximity to a view of any kind. The General had every plantation shutter in our home closed. Talk about a total blackout. The only glass in our house that was visible was the glass located in the front door. She had every shutter closed. From her perspective, her reason was sound. It was cold outside and projected to get colder over the next couple of days. She was content to close off the view and enjoy the warmth of the house.

 

Did I mention that I hate it when she closes the shutters? For the first eight or nine years we had no window coverings of any kind over the back of the house. We had stained wooden blinds in the front of the house because of the West sun, but the back was always open. Did we worry about people looking in? Not on your life. The only eyes that had access were those of animals.

 

Sometimes at night she closes the shutters. I think it is primarily to make me crazy. I hate it with the shutters closed. We might as well live in a cave. As far as closing the shutters to keep the heat inside, my solution is to turn up the thermostat. Logically, what I’m saying is true. For eight or nine years we had nothing over the windows. So why do we ever need to close the shutters?  We don’t! Personally, I think it is a control issue to sabotage my soundness of mind. Actually, that’s not really true. I don’t think that, but I thought it would be funny to throw it in. It simply highlights the fact that we think very differently. I’m not saying whose right or whose wrong. I’m simply suggesting that there is more than one way to solve a problem. From my perspective, if it is cold, turn up the thermostat.

 

So what do you do on a cold winter’s night? The easy answer is that we opted to do what we do most nights. We watched HGTV, but we watched in in surround sound in the upstairs quasi-living area/bedroom. I lured the General upstairs with the thought that heat rises.

 

Actually, when watching House Hunters, it takes both of us because we alternately fall asleep. Consequently, without the help of the other, we are never quite sure which home the participants chose. I say all of that to highlight the fact that we need to live differently.

 

One of my New Year’s resolutions is to carve out more time to visit with folks. Consequently, a Friday night should never be wasting on television. It ought to include people time. People who need people are not only the luckiest people in the world, they are also the most healthy.

 

I’m not making this up: “Loneliness and social isolation are harmful to our health: research shows that lacking social connections is as damaging to our health as smoking 15 cigarettes a day (Holt-Lunstad, 2015). Social networks and friendships not only have an impact on reducing the risk of mortality or developing certain diseases, but they also help individuals to recover when they do fall ill (Marmot, 2010)”.

 

Before the night was over, I decided if you can’t see outside, why not go outside? Sure it was cold. It was very cold. Truth me told, I wasn’t dressed for cold weather, but with a hot tub, you don’t have to be. I was surprised last night at how bright the stars were. To say the experience was invigorating is an understatement.

 

I subsequently, left that experience for sleep. That, too, proved to be a delightful experience. One of the things we received for Christmas was something we didn’t have. Now I wonder how we ever managed with them. A perfect solution for managing a cold room is flannel sheets. I actually, opted to ignore my alarm this morning because I didn’t want to get out of bed.

 

So, what do I have in mind for this morning? Obviously, getting my blog written and posted is a priority. As soon as I get that completed, I’m headed back outside to the hot tub. What a wonderful way to begin the day.

 

I guess I should also mention that I began the New Year right. For the first year ever, I wrapped the outdoor water faucets to protect against freezing temperatures in the warmth of 75-degree weather. Every other year, it has been freezing when I opted to make-ready the water lines for really cold weather. I am a lucky man.

 

All My Best!

Don

3 thoughts on “Managing The Cold”

  1. Bravo again. Please visit my Facebook Timeline to see my living room too and especially the Christmas tree in front of living window facing East with no window treatments looking out upon 8 acres of woods and wetlands. That’s where my telescope usually is set up, but has been relegated to the bedroom until after the tree is taken door after the 12th day of Christmas. You;ll also notice my front door with “Peace” on it with the Star of Bethlehem. This front door is also aligned with the arched windows in the living room. Both provide perfect sunrises and sunsets photo opts. Yes, “Boys will be boys, but so will a few old men.” Did I tell you my General and I love Chip and JoJo? CARPE DIEM.

    Like

Leave a Reply

