So What’s Your Story?

Unknown-23.jpeg

So what do you do when you are in Houston at 7:00 p.m. on Wednesday evening and you are 3 ½ – 4 hours from home? Short answer: “You do the best you can and point the front of your car homeward. I really didn’t mind the drive home. Okay, you caught me on that one. Let me re-phrase what I said about not minding the drive. I considered the drive home an inevitable obstacle I needed to overcome in order to get the outcome I wanted. Be it ever so humble, there’s no place like home.

So, was I using prudent judgment? I wasn’t far outside the city limits of Houston Wednesday evening when it occurred to me that going home was not the most appropriate plan. I most wanted to be home, but from a time constraint, I wasn’t sure I could justify the decision I was making. My vision is still good enough that night driving doesn’t pose an unnecessary risk. That wasn’t the problem. Could I stay awake until 11:00 p.m. or later? My best answer is: “You do what you have to do”. Obviously to get home safely, I’d needed to keep my eyes open. I could do it! I’ve done it before. I will do it again.

The thing that made no sense is that I was scheduled for a 10:00 a.m. meeting in Waco yesterday morning. Considering that, the logistics of my driving home didn’t make sense. It would be after 11:00 p.m. when I got home. As a rule of thumb, my daily blog requires a two-hour investment of time. Could I skip it? Not on your life. I am intent on capturing a thought or portion of my day, and once you start excusing the need to do so, you’ve just sabotaged consistency in that regard. You’re probably thinking I need to learn to type faster. I don’t see my typing speed as a problem. Besides that, I’m a litte faster than the hunt & peck with one finger approach. My typing speed is not the issue. It simply takes time to orchestrate getting the blog posted on three different web-pages.

On top of that, in order to negotiate early morning Austin traffic, I’d need to leave the house by 6:30 a.m. When you do the math and add up the car time traveling home to stay not nearly long enough, it all seemed futile.

So what did I do? Without hesitating, I picked up my phone and telephoned my son. He answered on the third ring. I asked: “What are you guys doing this evening?” He responded: “We are at church right now, Why?” I mentioned spending the night and he was insistent that I do so.

The upside of the experience was getting to visit. Craig reported that he had led the Bible study that evening. He also had provided Becky an opportunity to speak as well. He prefaced it by saying: “Some time back, Brother Robbie pointed out that although the Great Commission begins with the word ‘go’, that really isn’t the action verb on which we need to focus. The action verb that matters most is ‘make disciples’. Craig went on to say, “I’ve had it wrong all these years. Now I get it.” He also talked about the importance of friendship formation and being available to respond to the needs of others. There was a sense of excitement in his voice. I could also see it in his eyes. In addition, he’s let his hair get a little longer. Consequently he no longer looks like he’s stuck in the 60s or in the U.S. States Marine Corps. He did say in the midst of our conversation: “I’ve got to get a hair cut.” I guess once a Marine, always a Marine.

Both he and Becky talked with a sense of amazement and awe about the way God orchestrates relationships and people to ensure that needs get met. The needs getting met weren’t needs of their own, but they were excited that God has the ability to orchestrate a plan beyond our imagination. Simply seeing signs of his providential care for others is a life lesson in the making and a source of enrichment. It thrilled my heart just hearing them talk.

Last night, at a special event for one of the agencies with whom I work, a friend and board member mentioned that he had just returned from Colorado. He, too, was at the top of his game. He asked if I had seen the movie: “A Story Worth Living?” I had not. He then backtracked to ask if I was familiar with John Eldredge? He also mentioned Eldredge’s book: “Wild at Heart.” I read the book sixteen years ago when it was first published. Vaguely, I remembered the book, but the details and overriding theme escaped my memory.

Reportedly, “A Story Worth Living” is the documentary of Eldredge, his three sons and two friends who take the Colorado backcountry on BMW F800GS adventure bikes for a thousand mile ride. The theme is clear: It is a documentary on life’s deepest questions. The opening line is one that most of us can relate: “Everyone is looking for a story worth living”.   Long story short – six novice riders discover the story we are all looking to find.

 

The man I was visiting with had just returned from a boot camp kind of experience with that group. He said to me: “I’m sixty-seven years old. I’ve never experienced anything like it ever before. It has made me a new person.”

 

What about me? I’m up for an adventure. I don’t want to be left out. I located my copy of “Wild at Heart”. I did immediately connect the dots related to one of my earlier blogs this week. It, too, included the word “wild”: “Love her, but leave her wild.” Maybe, just maybe we’ve toned down our lives to a drab existence and we were created for so much more.

 

I’m going to check out the movie: “A Story Worth Living”. Whose to say where it might lead?

 

All My Best!

Don

 

One thought on “So What’s Your Story?”

  1. To quote comedian Steve Martin: “I’m a wild and crazy guy” – But on a serious note, last night I watched anothert good TCM movie, “All That Heaven Allows” (SOURCE: http://www.tcm.com/tcmdb/title/67083/All-That-Heaven-Allows/) , a 1955 Technicolor drama romance film starring Jane Wyman and Rock Hudson in a tale about a well-to-do widow and a younger landscape designer falling in love. Reminds me of myself and my wife Sally. But we went to school together, I mowed the llawn and took care of the garden etc while we were in highschool for her father. It’s “A Story Worth Living” for sure. I know indeed.

    But in this Hollywood story, Cary Scott (Jane Wyman) is an affluent widow in suburban New England, whose social life involves her country club peers, college-age children, and a few men vying for her affection. She becomes interested in Ron Kirby (Rock Hudson), her gardener, an intelligent, down-to-earth and respectful yet passionate younger man. Ron is content with his simple life outside the materialistic society and the two fall in love. Ron introduces her to people who seem to have no need for wealth and status and she responds positively. Cary accepts his proposal of marriage, but becomes distressed when her friends and college-age children are angry. They look down upon Ron and his friends and reject their mother for this socially unacceptable arrangement. Eventually, bowing to this pressure, she breaks off the engagement. Sounds like a possible story NOT worth living, doesn’t it?

    BTW, what time did you finally get home?

    Once a Marine, Always a Marine

    Like

Leave a Reply

