Touchdown

Unknown-24.jpeg

I’ve never thought of myself as a desperate man, but when it comes to readership for my blog, I’m willing to go the second mile. Of course, I have my boundaries. I am not going to get political. That’s the best way I know to lose friends and friends are more important than readership. So politics are off limits. Beyond that, almost anything else goes if it falls into the category of family friendly laced with civility and respect.

 

Early this morning, a long-time friend who lives south of the Red River (but grew up on the other side) let me know that Gander Mountain is going out of business and they have their Keens on sale for 30% off. I obviously don’t get out much. I’ve never heard of Gander Mountain either. I’m learning a lot from those who read my blog. In the course of two days, I’ve learned about clothing I’ve never heard of before.

 

A fellow blogger posted: “Generally I am a conservative dresser. At least that is what my children accuse me of. However back in the late 1960s a new look came about called the Nehru shirts. I had a summer job so I bought my own clothing. Well that summer I bought at least six of these shirts for school in the fall. I never had the courage to wear them even once. I do not recall seeing any body else wearing them at school either. There they stayed hanging in my closet for a few years until I got rid of them. Also since you are now on a fixed income you could buy an iron and press your shirts. I do, and count it as part of my daily exercise”.

 

Actually, I was not familiar with Nehru shirts. I did a Google search and discovered that I own a least two. However, I think my non-descript very plain Nehru shirts paled in contrast to the six my friend had purchased in his youth.

 

In addition, folks are now encouraging me to get out more with the caveat of: “For God’s sake, loosen up”. My dear younger brother wrote clarifying his suggestion: “I meant your Baptist preacher mentality imprisons you into rigidity concerning what you can wear or cannot wear. Loosen up your attitude. Wear what is comfortable. After all, you live in Austin, TX which is home to 1/2 of the old hippies in the world, and where girls wear cowboy boots with dresses and shorts (which, by the way, look quite nice). Kay says, “Do your part to keep Austin weird.” Enjoyed your fun blog. Love you much!”

 

A new friend wrote: “Agreed! A Magellan shirt, cargo shorts, Keens, and a straw hat. And sunglasses! Don’t forget the sunglasses! “Pastor on Vacation” look.”  My friend that lives south of the Red River was even bold enough to make the helpful suggestion: “Based on the number of comments further discussion of underwear may increase your readership.”

 

Okay, so the bottom line (pardon the pun) is that I want a blog to go viral and I’m relying on my friends from Oklahoma to make that happen. After all, it was an “Oakie from somewhere near Muskogee” (i.e.: my little brother) that introduced the concept of Buck Naked Underwear” into yesterday’s blog. One of his long term friends made second points to my brother’s touchdown by responding: “I don’t own any Keens, but I love my Buck Naked Underwear…”.

 

There is a subtle, but very distinct undertone to the theme of the interaction between my brother and I. In fact, a younger cousin wrote: “This blog rates high on my list of favorites. Loved it.” In case you missed it, it is all about the long- standing rivalry between UT and OU. Of course, an older cousin thoughtfully and lovingly wrote: “Never in my life did I imagine you two discussing underwear on the net. What would our ancestors think? I am still proud to be your cousin”.

 

Do you remember from childhood when you and a sibling got into a skirmish and one of you countered to a parent’s mandate to stop it, “He started it?” Some of you are scratching your head and thinking none of what I’ve written makes any sense. Let me explain my take on the issue.

 

My blog from yesterday took notice when my little brother (he’d prefer I refer to him as younger) figuratively stole the football and scored by garnering the readership’s attention by the introduction of Buck Naked Underwear.

 

Today I received the suggestion that in order to increase readership, it would serve me well to continue with the theme. Okay, so I’m a desperate man. Here’s more of what you’ve requested.

 

The Sears Fall/Winter catalog published in July 1975, was by far the most controversial and perhaps the most read. The merchandise included on the catalogue’s 1,492 pages left little to the imagination. That was particularly true on page 602 featuring men’s undergarments. “The male model was modeling permanent pressed boxer shorts – a luxury blend of 50% Kodel polyester and 50% combed cotton” with a no-roll elastic waist”. It wasn’t his underwear that garnered the buzz. Long story short, there were folks wanting to order the model on page 602.

 

Okay, so my little brother get’s most of the credit for generating a story line that resonates with folks; however, I think the playful banter between brothers is what garnered people’s attention. After all, my little brother is an old man, yet he can hold his own with his “uptight and rigidly imprisoned” older brother by occasionally scoring a touchdown. Okay, so I’ll say it out loud: “Yesterday’s game goes to the Oakie from near Muskogee.”

 

All My Best!

Don

 

Leave a comment