STUFF

IMG_6186 2.JPG

The General is on a mission to de-clutter our house. The problem is, I don’t think our house is cluttered. She has spent enough time at her mother’s house over the past year taking things to Goodwill and tossing out other stuff that she thinks it would serve our kids well if we opted to do it for them.

 

Maybe she’s right? Of course, she’s right. The General is always right. That is her signature series. The problem is there isn’t universal agreement on the stuff we need to do away with most. Six months ago when she was on this same kick, she opted to part with Fiesta Ware. Really? You can open a cabinet door and find a place serving for twelve. That doesn’t meet my definition for “do away with”. Truth be told, she probably gave away a service for twelve. At least now the “collection” all fits in the same cabinet.

 

I could write pages about her affinity for dishes. Don’t mistaken what I’m saying. We are not “fine china” kind of people. We never have been. About three and a half decades ago the church gave us a set of Wedgewood for Christmas. That is the only set of china we own and we use it often. We’ve still got every piece and twice as many more. Like I said, “When it comes to dishes, the General is an easy sale”. She knows how to buy more.

 

What about the collection of Franciscan Earthenware in the Desert Rose pattern? If the Franciscan company ever made it, we’ve got it. I’m not complaining. I like the stuff as well. The fifties were good years. For that matter, the pattern came out in 1941 and I’m sure half of our collection dates back to that period. I purchased them (our starter set) from a friend about thirty years ago. He was orphaned at the age of thirty and he had absolutely no interest in the Desert Rose dishes. He, unlike myself, is more into fine china. My Granny had the same kind of dishes. Consequently, although they didn’t belong to her, they remind me of her.  The Desert Rose pattern is here to stay.  The General and I agree on that.

 

The way I see it, if you need three forks to have a meal and desert, something is wrong. Like I’ve said, “I’ve been wrong before.” The General is going to insist on a different fork for the desert, but she doesn’t mandate the use of a different fork for salad. This is important to me only because it is generally my job to put the flatware up after it comes out of the dishwasher.

 

What I haven’t figured out is the need for two sets of Christmas dishes? If you only use them one day a year, do you really need two sets for twelve? I could ask the same thing about Thanksgiving dishes, but you already know the answer. If the General thinks we need them, we need them.

 

She doesn’t have the same affinity for my stuff. Please don’t get me wrong. The General is well read and enjoys books. She just isn’t a fan of keeping textbooks I have leftover from college. The way I see it, “I paid good money for that stuff”. Why throw them away? Don’t struggle to find an answer. We already have. My book collection has been downsized and the textbooks are gone.

 

Of course, if you’ve been reading my blog, you know that sharing a closet with the General has been the biggest challenge of our life. Trust me, she is up to any challenge and she plays to win. Okay, so when she returns home, she may think it is time to step into the winner’s circle. I tackled my assigned space in our clothes closet yesterday.

 

Actually, that is only barely true. I actually got out of bed at 10:00 p.m. with the thought that no self-respecting man would go to bed with things still on his “To Do List”. I had added straightening my closet to the list I made yesterday morning. Once you get started, where do you stop? It was well after midnight, but I’ve got lots of stuff for Goodwill this morning.

 

I’ve always heard, “If you haven’ worn it in a year, get rid of it.” That doesn’t mean I think that is sound advice. Since I’ve retired, I’ve passed five or six suits on the Craig. In addition, I had already given him two of my favorite (and almost new) sports coats. The poor guy (no pun intended), once he was out of the military, he had nothing to wear. As luck would have it (his luck), we wear the same size. I figure when I’m gone or when the General wants my stuff gone, Craig will be an easy target. Besides that, his clothes closet is huge.

 

If we ever move, the General and I will never share a clothes closet again. It simply represents too much stress for her. If I let the presence of all of her purses create in me the level of discomfort she gets when she looks on my side (less than 50% of the available space) of our closet, I’d need a therapist to work through the trauma.

 

Okay, so I’m done. My closet is in order. And with that, I’m headed to meet my daughter and son in law for coffe.

 

All My Best!

Don

4 thoughts on “STUFF”

  1. I read your blog this morning as I folded and stapled a “double” bulletin for a funeral of a church member on Friday. It’s part of my new volunteer job of “assistant media tech geek”. Your sharing of a closet is most interesting. Sally and I have always had separate closets until our current house where for the first time we had a larger than real walk-in closet bigger than our separate closets combined ever were. She likes it because she can carry our cloths back together and hang them up without going to 2 separate closets. Ha Ha. Plus she routinely removes every unused plastic, not metal, hangar and takes it back to the laundry room to await its new tenant. Plus, I do not even know where she keeps her purses.

    But the most important thought I had while “multi-tasking” was have you ever thought of doing you blog as a audio recording vs. text? That way I could keep my head down concentrating on the folding and stapling without v=being distracted by reading. Back in the 1950’s we had”Sister Sue” read the funny papers to us every night, back when the local paper devoted a whole page to serialized cartoons and single stand alone cartoons as well. I couldn’t find “sister Sue”, but I did find this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xH9tCcrrcak – July 1945 – New York City Mayor Fiorello LaGuardia reads Dick Tracy and Little Orphan Annie comics over the air during a newspaper deliverymen’s strike. But after looking again, I found a similar lady that preceded Sister Sue and her obituary which included this: “She founded the Tuesday morning prayer group which continues to this day. From 1939 to 1944 she was on-air personality for WFMJ radio station in Youngstown, OH as Sister Kay. Sister Kay read the funny paper to children over the air while children followed along in the newspaper, the Youngstown Vindicator, at home.” (See http://www.legacy.com/obituaries/nky/obituary.aspx?pid=168839305)

    COMING SOON: “Carpe Diem – Pastor Don Reads to You”

    Like

    1. Good Morning Bob – Wow! You are a man that knows his way around media hurdles. I wish you were closer, I could learn a lot from you. I haven’t considered an audio blog, but now that you’ve planted the seed, I will give it some thought. Now, if only I had a radio voice like Paul Harvey, I might go viral. I will check out the links you shared. Thank you!

      Don

      Like

  2. ON 2nd THOUGHT: Here’s a test just for you and your readers to see if they’ve like it too: See “CARPE DIEM: Pastor Don Reads to You” via this direct link @ thislinkhttps://us2-broadcast.officeapps.live.com/m/Broadcast.aspx?Fi=143355ec037ff7b5%5F57f2debf%2D00bf%2D4dde%2D8c9f%2D19eee1164e6c%2Epptx

    Like

  3. DO OVER = Once this Power Point loads, simply click on the little start tirangle in the lower right hand corner ofm the photo that appears – ON 2nd THOUGHT: Here’s a test just for you and your readers to see if they’ve like it too: See “CARPE DIEM: Pastor Don Reads to You” via this direct link – https://us2-broadcast.officeapps.live.com/m/Broadcast.aspx?Fi=143355ec037ff7b5%5F57f2debf%2D00bf%2D4dde%2D8c9f%2D19eee1164e6c%2Epptx

    Like

Leave a Reply

