Whatever Meets Your Fancy

IMG_6362.JPG

Is it really true that three moves is the equivalent of one fire? I think I first heard that expression from my mother. Where she learned the information, I do not know. I am assuming that the damage incurred to furniture and possessions in three moves is the equivalent to one fire. However, I have a friend in Frisco whose home was struck by lightening and caught on fire. It was a large and stately home and everything was destroyed, so I guess it depends on the fire.

 

Speaking of fire, our fire alarm sounded briefly in the early hours of the morning. It added a whole new dimension to the word shrill. Before it quieted itself, the hair on the back of my neck was standing up. It is the worst kind of way to wake up. Actually that’s not really true. The ringing of the telephone in the middle of the night to learn of tragically sad news once you answer the phone is the worst possible way to wake up.

 

The fire alarm simply rousing you from a deep sleep with the unspoken message that it is time to change the battery is only an inconvenience. However the piercing sound has a way of hanging around in the resources of your brain for a very long time. So does the dread of climbing twenty plus feet on a ladder. It’s not that I have a fear of heights. I don’t. It’s just that there is a large heavy bookcase on the wall where I need to position the ladder. Can I do it without moving the bookcase? Only time will tell. So did I truthfully write that I don’t have a fear of climbing twenty plus feet on a ladder? I’m not sure.

 

In the course of time that I knew my parents, according to the actual record, they moved seven times. Truth be told, my folks only lived in three places that I can remember. I have no frame of reference to the other four places other than knowing they lived there following my birth.

 

In the course of the forty-nine years the General and I have been married, we have lived in 30 different places. It isn’t as bad as it seems. We were in Midland a little over a decade and moved six times. Not only did we never move out of the same zip code, I’m not sure we ever moved more than two miles. I guess it goes without saying, “We really liked the neighborhood.” With a track record like that, you’d wonder why we’d ever bother to hang pictures. In reality, with the exception of the last two moves, we’ve always had pictures hanging on the walls before we called it quits on the day we moved.

 

You’d think the General could pass for Tammy Wynette singing “My Elusive Dreams” if she wrote down her memoires. How did Tammy express it in song? “ I followed you to Texas/I followed you to Utah/We didn’t find it there, so we moved on…I know you’re tired of following My elusive dreams and schemes For they’re only fleeting things My elusive dreams”.

 

I share all of that to substantiate, based on our experience, that “three moves is not the equivalent of a fire.” Our home is filled with furniture that we’ve had for a very long time. Actually my daughter would say most of our furniture is the stuff she grew up with. She’d also hasten to say that she doesn’t want any of it once we’re gone. Actually, she’d say that, but I’m not sure any of it is up for grabs. We may move another time or two before we are figuratively gone for good. In that case, we’ll still need and want the furniture.

 

My daughter is one of those people who knows exactly what she wants when it comes to style and traditional furniture doesn’t meet her fancy. Throw in a few brass tacks and it is: “Not No, But Absolutely Not”. She doesn’t want any of it in her home. Don’t get me wrong. I don’t have anything against contemporary furniture. If I lived on the fortieth floor of a high rise overlooking the city of Chicago, I’d want modern or contemporary furniture. By the way, modern and contemporary are not one and the same. However, both styles lean toward simple, uncluttered spaces with smooth, clean lines. I bet you didn’t know that I knew that because when it comes to furniture, I prefer antiques and traditional furniture.

 

It is not my intent to start a saloon type brawl, but some would say of the contemporary look that it is cold and sterile. Not me, I’d never say that! I could live comfortably in my daughter’s home, but in a perfect world, I’m more at home (wherever home is) with traditional furniture. In addition, throw in a few brass tacks and it meets my fancy.

 

The way I see it, my two kids will never fight over our stuff. For one thing, they were brought up not to fight. In addition, when it comes to home furnishings, Andrea doesn’t want any of our stuff. Depending on how you look at it, Craig could be a lucky guy. On the other hand, some would say he loses.

 

Andrea doesn’t want any of our furniture. That is particularly true of the sofa pictured with today’s blog. Okay, so we bought it new a very long time ago. Actually, we picked the fabric (you’re thinking we were smoking with Willie, but your wrong) and waited nine months for the sofa to arrive. The folks at Drexel Heritage worked really slowly on the project, but the sofa has seen more than its share of moves.

 

“Timeless” is the word I’d use to describe the style. “Junk” is the word my daughter would use. At any rate, we are opting to have the sofa recovered. You can’t find one like it today and the General and I like the style. We also like the brass tacks and if we ever live in a contemporary style home, we’ll add the flair of something old to something new.

 

All My Best!

Don