Life Lessons Learned

My son and daughter have always had a close relationship. In some respects, they are as different as night and day. There is almost a ten-year difference in their ages and their life experiences differ. Craig graduated from high school in Johnson City. Andrea graduated from Midland High School, in Midland. I reference the school only because I had a friend who included a stipulation in his divorce decree that his children had to attend Midland High School.

Johnson City is pretty laid back and easy-going. Midland is more closely aligned to the fast track and can sometimes seem a little pretentious. Those differences might surface in a different blog.

When my daughter opted to attend the University of Texas, her Aggie brother described it as a delayed adolescent adjustment reaction. Okay, so maybe I’ve influenced both of their thought processes with a background in child welfare services.

Regardless of where you go to school, I’m more of the opinion that author Robert Fulghum wasn’t far off when he wrote: “All I Need To Know, I Learned In Kindergarten”. Probably neither my son nor daughter would agree with that.

Craig’s primer for life was found in the series of Lonesome Dove. He often quotes Capt. Woodrow F Call, and values his ability to think of his feet. After beating an army scout in front of some horrified townspeople, he justified his actions by saying: “I hate rude behavior in a man. I won’t tolerate it.”

Of course, he also often quotes Capt. Augustus McCrae. How’s this for a touch of genius: “I figured out why you and me get along so well. You know more than you say and I say more than I know. That means we’re a perfect match, as long as we don’t hang around one another more than an hour at a stretch.”

All of that’s a little too country for the likes of someone from Midland America. Andrea has a life lessons regarding almost anything from the Seinfeld series.

Earlier in the week, I wrote that I had a dream that I was driving a bus. I have a friend who never makes a public response to anything I share on a blog. However, periodically he will send me a private email referencing something I’ve shared.

I always look forward to his comments even if most often, they present a different frame of reference. I suspect the relationship that we share is can be summed up in the quote from Capt. Gus McCrae.

Thinking of me driving a bus, reminded my friend of a Seinfeld episode. He sent me this link:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cmlCAhrAWYw

All My Best!
Don