The Joy Of Shared Time

Yesterday we drove from Cat Spring to Broken Bow, OK, to meet my brother and his family. Craig’s family traveled along with us. In fact, Craig drove our car. I didn’t even have to stay awake, but I did.

This is the third year (we skipped 2020 due to COVID) for a family reunion north of the Red River. It is the only time that our kids and grandkids have an opportunity to visit with Larry’s kid’s and grandkids.

The first reunion took place in Broken Bow in July 2019. We skipped the following year and resumed the family gathering last year.

For the Texas contingent, the only downside to Broken Bow is the distance. That may not be quite right. It is the stress of freeway driving.

This year traveling from Cat Spring worked so much better because it was a backroad’s Texas experience for the vast majority of the way. We were only on an Interstate highway for a few miles. The rest was backroads.

We didn’t visit late into the night yesterday. I went to bed at 10:30; my normal bedtime. My brother and I surfaced in the living area this morning about 6:10 a.m.

Larry is a walking genius. He figured out how to operate the complicated coffee maker. I would have never figured it out without relying on YouTube. We then settled for conversation and coffee drinking in the outdoor living area.

The outdoor setting is picturesque. The same could be said of the entire home. By 7:30 to 8:00, the house was a flurry of activity. While we were enjoying breakfast, Larry looked at me and asked: “Is there a reason you have your shirt on inside-out?”

Before I could answer, Larry’s son-in-law said: “It must be in the dna.”
Recently, Larry went to lunch with him. When they returned to Matt’s office, he told Larry he had his shirt on inside-out. Larry asked: “Why didn’t you tell me earlier?” He said he didn’t want to embarrass him.

Following breakfast this morning, the younger crew headed to the lake for boating. Larry and I were content to go for a walk. Thankfully, this time Larry remained upright. The first year he fell on his face and instantly looked like he had been on the losing end of a bar brawl. He made me promised not to tell that he had fallen.

I gave my word, so I didn’t. Everyone we passed on the trail asked: “Did you fall?” I bit my tongue and refrained from saying, “No, he enjoys beating himself in the head. Of course, he fell.”

By the time we got back to our place of lodging, his fall was my fault. He was keeping up with me and I walk too fast. Today our walk worked out great. We both stayed upright and enjoyed the time together.

Currently, the house is almost filled with the sound of silence. The boating crew is still gone, but soon they will be back. The house will soon be filled with laughter and shared stories from long ago. I’m glad we are sharing this time together.

All My Best,
Don