Family Fun

The VRBO home where we are staying in Broken Bow is quiet this morning. I’m sitting outside wondering how it can be so refreshingly cool following a day when the heat index was dangerously high.

Of course, the younger folks managed to go kayaking yesterday morning and headed elsewhere for an outdoor activity yesterday afternoon. I was invited to both activities but chose to decline. My brother and I managed to get in a long walk early yesterday morning.

Before day’s end, I fell half a mile short of my 5-mile-a-day minimum. Knowing that I was not quite there yet, I had headed out late morning to complete my walk.

I was not yet out of sight5 when I heard the General calling my name with the mandate to “Come here!” She is a no-nonsense kind of person and when she told me to go back inside the house because it was too hot to be out walking, I didn’t offer a rebuttal. I knew she was right. Of course, she’s always right.

Last night a decision was made to return to Broken Bow during the same time frame next year. It is a seven-hour drive for us, but the accommodations are fantastic and there are a lot of activities for grandkids to do in the area.

The shrimp boil late yesterday with all the fixings for the evening meal was delicious. Truth be said, all of the meals were exceptional and everything was home-cooked.

More importantly, our extended family enjoys sharing time together and the younger grandkids and the older grandkids have a lot of shared fun together.

Actually, the posted picture was too good to pass up. It actually all was taking place when it appeared to be a Kodak moment. For this picture, we added the two guys on either end.

All My Best!
Don