The gift of friendship

Several years ago, I met Steve Hiller and Linda Gacsko at a National League of Family meeting in Washington, D.C. Both had attended a workshop I conducted on ambiguous grief. Steve mentioned in passing that he and Linda were making a documentary on the MIA issue related to families, and that they would like to interview me in the future.

Steve lives in Highland Park, Illinois, the site of the Fourth of July parade massacre earlier this month. Linda lives in Los Angeles. The two business partners have worked together for years.

This past Sunday, I received a text from Steve on Messenger. He wrote: “Hi..not sure if you got my email…we just finished our interview in DC with Colleen and heading west. We would love to pass through your area and finally make you a part of our film. We are eventually aiming for Los Angeles, but we would be happy to go the southern route if you’re around and available.

I met Colleen Shine through the League of Families several years ago. She was on the committee that initially invited me to lead a workshop on ambiguous grief and subsequently presented me with the same opportunity a couple of other times.

Colleen is the daughter of Lt. Col. Anthony C. Shine, USAF (Missing in Action from 1972-1996) She is one of the most gifted and talented young people that I’ve met.

She comes across as knowledgeable, professional, and committed to the fullest possible accounting of those listed as MIA. In addition, her insight from being the daughter of an MIA adds an important perspective.

Her background includes extensive television experience including the most recognized forums for news across the nation and beyond. She is a seasoned professional and is no stranger to news broadcasting.

It goes without saying, but I’ll include the disclaimer as a courtesy just to keep the record straight. I am not an expert on anything.

So, why would two people drive almost non-stop from Virginia to Austin to interview me for a documentary? What could I possibly share with them that they couldn’t access from any number of other people in closer proximity?

I felt both honored and humbled. I didn’t know what to expect, but the last thing I expected was how skillfully and professionally they made me feel comfortable and at ease in answering their questions.

Linda had invested the time to carefully read Bitter Or Better, A Personal Walk Through Grief. Reportedly, Steve has also done the same since he has recommended the book to others.

My time with them yesterday afternoon was most enjoyable. I felt as though I was visiting with old friends rather than people with whom I only have a surface relationship. Actually, after yesterday, you can scratch the comment about surface relationships. I now think of Steve and Linda as friends and look forward to seeing them again.

Their skill set in gleaning the stories of families whose lives have been abruptly and forever altered by the face of war is outstanding. I applaud their work and am honored to be included.

All My Best!

Don