HIDE AND SEEK

I’m getting a little old for playing hide and seek, but I discovered yesterday that both of the keys to my truck were missing. How could that be possible? Normally, I leave my truck parked in a small parking lot near the swimming pool in neighborhood where we live.

It is really wierd, but for some reason the neighborhood association where we live doesn’t want people parking on the street in front of their homes overnight. Consequently, there is some rule closely akin to no parking on the street between 2:30 a.m. – 4:00 a.m. I don’t know for certain. I’m not generally awake during that time-frame.

Yesterday, after driving the truck to pick up lunch, I parked in front of the house and even rolled the window down. It was already really hot outside. Mid-afternoon the General and I needed to meet our builder, so I suggested we drive the truck.

The Geneal liked that idea. When I opened the drawer where I leave my keys, I immediately noticed that two keys were missing. Both belonged to my truck. Since we didn’t have time to spare, we opted to drive the General’s car.

Just to make it clear, for the record, the General actually told me that I needed to find my keys. Who would have thought? I’d probably have eventually figured that out on my own, but whose to say? I don’t have to do a lot of thinking on my own. I have an automated voice near me that serves as a frequent reminder.

I’m not complaining. Sometimes I appreciate the General’s sage advice. However, yesterday I had figured out the key-issue on my own. I guess that falls into the “Ripley’s Believe It Or Not category.”

As a rule of thumb, if my key is not where I routinely store it, I check the pants pocket of the jeans or shorts I last wore. Ninety-nine percent of the time, I find the key when that is my automatic default.

Yesterday, after we returned from the meeting with the builder, the automated voice told me I needed to find my keys. Strange isn’t it, I had not forgotten.

So what did I do with my key when I parked the truck in front of the house? In the resources of my memory, I remember thinking “this isn’t right” when I opened a cabinet drawer in the counter of our home. Consequently, in playing hide and seek, I walked to the other end of the counter where I normally keep my keys. I opened the drawer and discovered the key.

The way I processed the find is “one down and one to go”. I immediately went out to roll up the window and drove the truck back to the small parking lot where I park. Much to my suprise, every parking space (except the two handicap spaces) were taken. I’ve never seen that parking lot full.

So far the record, I’m a rule-breaker. This morning my truck is still parked on the curb in front of our home.. Frankly, I doubt that anyone noticed the it was on the street between 2:30 – 4:00 a.m.

My first priority this morning is to find the other missing truck key. Wish me well! I remember losing one of the keys to my Miata several years ago. I found myself looking in the same places over and over. The key didn’t appear to be in the house. On the other hand, the Miata was in the garage. I am the only person that drives the Miata. Consequently, the key had to be in the house.

Finally, with a sense of uneasiness, I started drawing clock faces and putting numbers on the clock. I remember that when my mother was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s one, of the tests she could not successfully complete was to draw a clock faces.

Yes, for the record, I drew a clock face or two this morning. I have one missing key to my truck, but I am not yet missing my mind.

All My Best!
Don