It Was An Honored Privilege

I arrived at the airport in Minneapolis, MN on Friday afternoon to participate in a celebration of life service on Saturday for a man I did not know. In addition, I had not yet met Judith, his wife, or his two adult children in person.

That’s not to say Judith and I are strangers. She the sister of the guy who recorded the sermons at church to post on YouTube during the pandemic. We did that for well over a year.

All of that seems like a lifetime ago. We videoed the sermons on Saturdays. We also had church on Sundays, but many people limited their contact with others in keeping with stay-in-place requirements associated with the pandemic.

In remembering back, the process seemed surreal. Speaking to an empty church was not an easy process for me. It added a whole new concept to the adage of taking to yourself. I adjusted to the routine but welcomed the day that doing so was no longer needed.

The abbreviated posted worship service included special music, a children’s sermon, and the morning message. A link to the YouTube posting was distributed to our congregation and others who had expressed an interest.

One of the people who periodically watched the services was the sister of the man from church who videoed the services. At some point, she reached out to me through Facebook messenger. That, too, seems like a very long time ago. Through the process, we became good friends.

Her husband was very ill, and the prognosis was not good. At some point many months ago, she asked if I would officiate at his memorial service when the time came. I was honored to be asked.

Arriving on Friday, I had an opportunity to visit with family members and posthumously learn about Steve’s life. I was invited to a dinner on Friday evening that included residents from the retirement community where they lived. It proved to be an enjoyable time.

I was in town for less than 24 hours before the memorial service took place. Before the service, everyone I talked with confirmed that Steve was a good guy. He was a kind man. He would willingly take the time to help anyone needing his assistance. The description I heard of him reminded me of something St. Teresa said:

“Spread love everywhere you go; first of all in your own house. Give love to your children, to your wife or husband, to a next-door neighbor…Let no one ever come to you without leaving better and happier. Be the living expression of God’s kindness; kindness in your face, kindness in your eyes, kindness in your smile, kindness in your warm greeting.” Perhaps even without knowing, her’s was the formula Steve used to negotiate the demands of living. His life was characterized by kindness.”

Yesterday’s service was purposefully set for July 30th, the 56ths wedding anniversary of the couple.

I was honored to be in attendance. In addition, I’m now leaving Minnesota with the belief that I made new friends.

All My Best!
Don