Bridge Over Troubled Waters

We all have a story, and life has a way of presenting ups and downs. As I look at my life, most of my experiences have been beyond my deserving. I’ve had the good fortune of being the recipient of love and surrounded by family and friends that support my greatest good.

That’s not to say that there aren’t areas of my life where change is merited. I’m still a work in progress. I suspect that is a universal truth for most of us.

Yesterday at church, our pastor made the point: “God is in the life-changing business, and He can change our story.” To substantiate that, he shared a personal illustration that left me teary-eyed.

He mentioned that one of his sister’s daughters and her family spent the Augus 5th – 7th weekend in their home. His family operates an AirBNB in the Texas Hill Country. For his niece, her summer break from teaching ended Monday, August 8th.

In addition, she was starting a new teaching assignment in a small community where her family of origin previously lived many years ago. How’s that for turning back the pages of time?

On Wednesday, his niece noticed a student in her classroom that appeared sad and preoccupied with something other than school. She looked as though she might be carrying the weight-of-the world on her shoulders. Her sad countenance was undeniable.

When class was over, the teacher asked the student if they could talk. The student said she was okay, but that things at home were stressful. Reportedly, there was not a father in the picture. He had never offered support for the family. In addition, her mother had historically worked multiple jobs just to financially make ends meet. They were having a difficult time.

The student was startled when the new teacher asked if her mother’s name was “__________?” Having gotten her mother’s name correct, the student wanted to know if the teacher knew her mother?” She said that she did not.

The teacher’s older sister died two years ago, but the teacher remembered that her sister had a friend from high school years earlier that became pregnant out of wedlock during their senior year of high school. The friend’s name was the same as the mother of the student.

Seventeen years earlier, the teacher’s mother and her older sister had done what they could to provide support and encouragement to the mother and her family. They periodically purchased diapers, clothing, and baby things to be of assistance.

What were the chances that seventeen years later, the niece would be the high school teacher for the daughter of the girl who had been her older sister’s best friend in high school?

Through happenstance or Divine appointment, the younger sister was now privileged to pick up the mantel of friendship and be a support system not only for the student, but for the deceased sister’s best friend from high school. It sounds like the kind of thing that only God can orchestrate.

Hearing that the teacher’s older sister had been a friend of her mother’s moved the student to tears. When the student told her mother about the conversation with her teacher, the mother also cried. The student’s new teacher is now a support system for her family.

Most often God uses people to assist in changing our story. Have you given thought to the parts of your story that need to be altered or adjusted? Have you given thought to how the investment of your time and friendship could help someone else to have a different story?

As I write these words, the lyrics to a song sung by Simon and Garfunkel come to mind:

When you’re weary Feeling small When tears are in your eyes I’ll dry them all I’m on your side Oh, when times get rough And friends just can’t be found

Like a bridge over troubled water I will lay me down Like a bridge over troubled water I will lay me down

When you’re down and out When you’re on the street When evening falls so hard I will comfort you I’ll take your part Oh, when darkness comes And pain is all around

Like a bridge over troubled water I will lay me down Like a bridge over troubled water I will lay me down

Sail on silver girl Sail on by Your time has come to shine All your dreams are on their way See how they shine Oh, if you need a friend I’m sailing right behind

Like a bridge over troubled water I will ease your mind Like a bridge over troubled water I will ease your mind

All My Best!

Don