The First Game Of The Season

It was the first game of the season. It wasn’t a district game, so it didn’t really count. None of that mattered to the General.  She was ready for us to temporarily move in with Craig and Becky so we don’t miss any of the boy’s games. William is a senior this year. Jake is in the 8th grade.

All week long, she talked about being ready for football.  Okay, I get it.  We were going to drive to Cat Spring on Friday afternoon and be present with a show of support by game time. I initially wrote, “dutifully present”, but that would draw harsh criticism from folks who don’t think the way I think. We are driving home this morning.

I love my family and I am interested in every detail of my grandson’s lives, but the General and I are not on the same page.  I’ll catch flack for saying that, but I’m not driving back to Cat Spring on Tuesday to catch Jake’s eighth-grade game and staying over until Friday to catch William’s next game. That falls somewhere under the definition of insanity.

When we arrived at the stadium, I had a flashback to the last few times we were there. We were in the midst of our “soccer phase” and the General wasn’t going to miss any of those games either.  Cold and wet are the two words that come to mind. Let me modify that and add the concept of bitterly cold and wet. The General purchased a heated stadium seat as if that made an appreciable difference.

When we arrived at the stadium, I noticed Otto and Dorothy already seated on the bench closest to the front of the stadium.  Otto is Becky’s grandfather and Dorothy is his wife. They, too, were ready for game time.

Did I mention that the first half of the game seemingly took forever? At half time the score was 14 to 14.  There were multiple penalties on both sides and many of the players on the opposing team appeared to have leg cramps and need assistance to get up.  It was a long first half.

My eyes consistently fell on Otto and Dorothy sitting on the first bench. I couldn’t help but wonder if they were enjoying the game.  I couldn’t see their faces, but they appeared to be talking.

The second half of the game went by far more quickly. Of course, I say that because the Sealy team edged ahead 39 to 14.  By the fourth quarter, enough seats were vacated so I moved down to talk to Otto and Dorothy.

They were delighted to be at the game. Of course, Otto has two great-grandson’s in the game. William plays defensive end and Rylan, in his junior year, is playing offensive. Both boys played a great game.

By the way, Otto graduated from Sealy High School in 1950. To put that in perspective, I was three years old when he graduated and I am now three days older than dirt.  That was a very long time ago. He, too, had been a Sealy Tiger and played football. 

Dorothy has four sons and they also played football. One son was the quarterback. Otto added that her son broke his jaw while playing. Their families were lifelong friends from school and after her husband and his wife died, they chose to marry.

Otto mentioned they were both planning to celebrate their 90th birthdays together. He laughed as he said, that is still a long way off.  A little over a year for him, and two for her.

Otto didn’t remember if he made a game last year, but he definitely wants to be present when Sealy plays Bellville.  I guess you could say that for a lifetime, both schools have considered the other their primary rival.

I’m glad I was at the game. I think it is improbable that many players have a great-grandfather present to see their games.  It made me feel good that my grandson has that show of support by his great-grandfather. 

All My Best!

Don