Turn Around – Don’t Drown

No one asked, but this is my two cents worth

Sometimes pie-in-the-sky legislation or roadway safety codes become an albatross for people. I recently visited with an individual who has the vision and skill-set to be an exemplary resource for academically gifted children. The individual operates a private school located in an incredibly isolated and serene country setting. Trust me, you have to be going there to get there. The location would be your purposeful intent, or you’d never be on that roadway.

In order for the new private school to figuratively get a green light from the county to begin serving the public, relatively newly constructed road and bridge requirements intended to satisfy worst possible case scenarios associated with a 100-year flood have to be met. We are talking about a private road on private property with a low water crossing. Seldom if ever is there even a trickle of water at the low water crossing.

So here’s the deal, it will take $5 million dollars to meet the new code requirements. Of course, public roads in the county don’t even come close and no one in the county is asking that current roadways be brought up to the new code.

Speaking of low water crossings, I live in Hays County and the Creek Road between Henly and Dripping Springs has at least two one-lane bridges. I’m talking about a public road with lots of traffic. In addition, even at least one commercial bus has turned over following an evening wedding in a low water crossing on that road. The bus driver apparently failed to remember: “Turn around, don’t drown.”

Fortunately, no one was injured, but it could have been worse. Some of you are thinking I’m making a point for the county’s enforcement of the new codes.

That is not my intent! I don’t think the government should have the authority to mandate bridge requirements on private land on a private road just because it is a forum to get to a private school.

Until our recent move following the sale of our home, we were locked between two low-water crossings, one on each side of our home. In the nineteen years, we lived in that location, we were stranded on either side of where we needed to be less than half a dozen times. The key to resolving the situation was to wait for two hours.

For my two cents worth, pie-in-the-sky 100-year-flood requirements need to stick to public roadways and not be enforced on private land. Most of us have the good sense to “turn around and not drown.”

Those are my thoughts, and it would take a lot for me to change my mind.

All My Best!

Don