I Don’t Eat Liver

Yesterday I was privileged to spend the day in Abilene. The Texas Coalition of Homes for Children meets quarterly on the campus of Children at Heart Ministries in Round Rock. This quarter they decided to meet in Abilene and provide the membership an opportunity to tour Hendrick Home for Children and Ben Richey’s Boys Ranch.

When I retired from Children at Heart Ministries five years ago, I was provided a complimentary lifetime membership with the organization.  In addition, both of the agencies we were visiting yesterday are member agencies of the Coalition of Residential Excellence where I currently serve as executive director.

Consequently, I left for Abilene at 5:00 a.m. yesterday with the sound of “Abilene – Prettiest Town That I’ve Ever Seen” rolling around in my head.  The song recorded by George Hamilton IV in 1963,  was still very popular when I headed to Hardin-Simmons University in Abilene as a freshman in 1965. Of course, the Abilene that Hamilton was singing about was Abilene, Kansas, but I didn’t know that at the time.

The picture accompanying my blog is in front of one of the living units at Hendrick Home. We were divided into two groups as we toured the campus.  The children’s home began in 1939.  If I heard correctly, the lady providing the tour said there had only been four presidents of the agency.  I need to check that out. If that’s true I’ve personally known three of them.

Ben Richey Boys Ranch began the year I was born. They are celebrating their 75th anniversary this year.  The home was started by Ben Richey and his wife, Jamie, in 1947.  I was privileged to work for the founder and his wife in 1967.  At that time, the home was known as Abilene Boys Ranch. 

I worked as a counselor (quasi-house parent) in 1966. I have my pastor, Bro. Bob Rich to thank for that. He contacted me and asked if I’d have an interest in working there. They needed two staff persons to oversee boys.  Consequently, Bill Wiman and I started to work at the same time. We were both friends at school.

I was in one dorm, and Bill was in the other.  As I recall, our workday started long before we left for school.  Part of my assigned task was to go pick up the cook and bring her to the ranch.  While I was doing that, Bill was supervising and assisting the older boys in feeding the hogs. I guess you could say that I had the easy part.

I was off work one day a week and one weekend a month that began at noon on Saturday. I still remember some of the kids who lived at the ranch. Charles was gifted and talented. He drew a pencil sketch of my face. Would you believe, I still have it?  I remember his last time, but didn’t include it because of the need for confidentiality.

Of course, when I worked there, I had no idea of important things that I didn’t know.  Take for example, driving a school bus packed with boys to the movie on Friday nights. I didn’t know you needed a special license to do that.  I also didn’t know there were staff/child ratios that needed to be met. There were Friday nights that I was the only staff person.

The one thing I hated about the job was dinner on the evenings that liver and onions was served. Mrs. Richey thought it was an important ingredient, and it was on the menu once a month.  As a role model for kids, how could I not eat it?  I can truthfully say that I have not eaten liver since.

Ben Richey Boys Ranch looks nothing like the campus did in 1967. The two dorms and cafeteria that comprised the campus are gone. Today’s campus is beautiful and represents a thriving community of children and staff with multiple cottages. In addition, ten homes are also available for single mothers and their children. They are welcome to stay at the ranch as long as they are working to accomplish their goals.

Yesterday took me back in time. It was a day well spent.

All My Best!

Don