It Was A First For Me

I don’t remember how old I was when I first heard the expression: “What goes up must come down.” I smiled when I read the remark: “Falling feels like flying until you hit the ground.” The term “what goes up must come down” is a phrase that means things that rise must eventually return to the earth due to gravity.

I am of the opinion that the “what goes up must come down” principle does not apply to the cost of hotel rooms in Washington, D.C.  Historically, I’ve counted on Priceline or Hotels.com to help me frugally travel.  The last several trips, proved to be an exception to that approach. There were no deals to be had from my vantage point.  It’s not just the hotel rate, but the additional service fees added to the room rate can really make costs spiral.

As an alternative, I’ve turned the corner and gone to Airbnb. This week, I figuratively struck gold. The Metro station closest to the place of my lodging is the same one where I get off to keep appointments on Capitol Hill.

The apartment is in the basement of a row house, but it has it’s own private entrance along with a window in the front. It has been in easy walking distance to where I needed to be. The neighborhood is upscale.

The icing on the cake is the discovery that it is a five-minute walk from the Airbnb to Whole Foods.  Had that not been highlighted in the informational booklet on the dining table where I was staying, I would have never figured that out.

So, last night I had the thought, why not just go to Whole Foods and get something already prepared for dinner instead of going to a restaurant.  As my adventure unfolded, I found myself in the midst of what seemed strange and foreign.

So what was a “plnt burger”?  Several people who appeared normal were waiting for their burger to be prepared.  I got in line and asked the man behind the counter when it was my turn: “What is a plnt burger”? When he said: “It is a vegan burger”, I instantly said in my head: “Not no, but absolutely not”. 

I declined and walked away. I then did an about face.  Like I said, the folks who were waiting appeared to be normal. So what was I afraid of?  I asked the man behind the counter which burger he recommended?  I didn’t even flinch when he said “mushroom with cheese”.  I heard myself responding: “That sounds great. I will also have sweet potato fries and a large lemonade.”

I had no idea that I was in for a real treat. The burger and fries were delicious.  I sat at a counter against the outside window of the building.  It was a very different dining experience and one that I would enjoy regularly if accessing it was only a five-minute walk. 

I know what some of your are thinking?  I have never fallen into the “Good Ole Boys” category, but now you think I’m weird as well. Don’t judge me until you try it.

All My Best!

Don