William’s Softer Side

I am privileged to have a close relationship with all of my grandchildren.  Years ago, I told them they could describe me as “old and crazy”, but they better include “crazy” in the description, or they would be in a world of hurt.  I can be meaner than a junkyard dog. 

My primary purpose for writing today’s blog is to tell you about a telephone call I received from William this past Monday. I did have the presence of mind to ask his permission last night before I took it upon myself broadcast information this morning that he might want to keep confidential.

 William, who is routinely calm and collected, was uncharacteristically excited when he called to talk Monday evening. Since his telephone call to me was the first of many he made, it made me feel good that he chose to reach out to me first.

Before I share William’s news, let me make some observations about William. My oldest grandson is named after my dad.  It may be strictly coincidental, but William often reminds me of Dad.

My dad was a black and white thinker. He never colored outside the lines and always followed the rules to the letter of the law. With him there were no shades of gray. It was a choice between doing what is right and refraining from doing what is wrong.  That is the same pathway William has chosen to follow.

Another similarity they share is their use of humor. William’s sense of humor is always unexpected, but hilariously funny in a dry sort-of-way. It was years ago, but I was with William when we saw a tall skinny [6’10” to 7′] guy and a very short not-so skinny woman get out of a Volkswagen Beetle along with their Great Dane that filled the back seat space. As the three made their way off into the distance, William remarked: “Now that’s not something you see every day.” It was simply a statement of fact, and William probably didn’t even intend for it to be funny. 

In addition, I never understood how Dad could do it, but the computer in his head processed numbers easily. William has that same gift. He is numbers guy, and he doesn’t even have to think about it.

My dad was always frugal. He preferred to save a dollar rather than spend it. William is pretty much the same way.

When my son got out of the military and the family made plans to have a new home built, William, at the age of about 10 was very uncomfortable when he learned that with the new house came a mortgage. To him, the concept of borrowing money in order to have a place to live was unacceptable. 

How many ten year olds do you know that think that way?  My dad thought that way. The Great Depression forever impacted his life, but William has not had that kind of experience.

To his credit, even as a little kid, William never let a dime burn a hole in his pocket. He would rather save his money than spend it. That is the same thought pattern that defined my dad.

On the football field, William plays defensive end and has the reputation of being made out of steel. William plays football simply for the joy of playing.  Do I need to repeat that? He doesn’t seek out the Sealy News to see what ‘s been written about him in the paper.  Press coverage isn’t of any real significance to him.  He simply doesn’t care.

Despite falling into the category of a jock, he is not self-absorbed with the thought that the world rotates around him. He is a pretty humble kid even though he would probably describe himself as a combination of brains and brawn. 

Of course, to be totally honest, William does sometimes get side tracked when he walks past a full-size mirror and becomes mesmerized by the person looking back at him as he flexes his muscles.

Before I move to Monday night’s telephone call, let me make another couple of observations concerning William.

William has a softer side. He is consistently a kind person. He gets along well with the athletic crowd, and he is equally at home with the geek-squad.  He fits in both circles.

William is a very protective older brother for Jake. The relationship they share is very nurturing.

William also bonds well with dogs.  He was particularly close to Colby, the blond lab that belonged to my daughter and son-in-law.     When Colby died, it was very upsetting to William. 

Of course, I’m bias, but I think of my grandson as one of the good guys.

His telephone call to me on Monday night took me totally by surprise.  He called to tell me that his application for admission in the Mays Business School at Texas A&M University for the next school year has been favorably received.  For him, it is a life-long dream come true.

Gig ‘Em

Don