Stories Are Powerful

Sunday after church, I spent the remainder of the day finishing reading the book I started the day before.  The book is fiction, but the writer said the fabric from his own life was woven into the script. The book was well written. At least it held my attention from start to finish.

As a rule of thumb, I seldom put a book down until I finish reading it. Of course, some books cannot be read in a day.  But if I’ve invested several hours in reading, I will stay with it until I’ve read the book from cover to cover.

Years ago, when I traveled an appreciable distance to work, I often filled the time with audio books. More than once, I delayed pulling into my driveway late at night until I came to a good stopping place in the book. That simply substantiates the kind of hold a book can represent.  Stories are powerful. 

Yesterday, Amazon delivered three books I had ordered a couple of weeks earlier.   Actually, paperback versions of the books were available to ship my direction immediately, but I wanted hardback copies. In my warped sense of what’s important, there is something substantive about a hard-back book.

The General prefers to read on her Kindle, but I want a real book to hold in my hands.  Reading should routinely be a part of my week, but sometimes I fail to remember the importance a book can represent.

When I was a little kid in elementary school, during the summer months when school was out, my mother took us to the library once a week. It was her expectation that we read during the week instead of devoting every minute of the day to playing.

This past Friday when I was flying from Tampa to Austin, on my way home from Washington, the man sitting in the middle seat to my left on the airplane read from the moment he sat down until the plane landed.  I noticed the paperback book he was reading because it was well-worn and the pages had yellowed with age.  I was curious about the book, but didn’t get an opportunity to ask any questions because he never looked up.  However, I was bold enough to take a picture.

Periodically, someone will ask me, “Have you read any good books lately?”  I always answer truthfully. Yet, I find it a source of embarrassment if I don’t have a book on the tip of my tongue that I could recommend.

How about you?  Have you read any good books lately?

All My Best!

Don

Leave a comment