There is a time for everything

They say there is a time for everything.  Actually, I think that statement was reportedly made by the wisest man who ever lived.  Solomon is thought to have had 500 wives, but who’s counting? I suspect his life was filled with challenges beyond my understanding. Obviously, that was a different place and a different time. I can’t even imagine.

I have a friend who has been divorced and remarried for many years. He still refers to his first wife, the mother of his son, as Satan.  He doesn’t have any loving memories associated to his relationship with his son’s mother. Yet, he has nothing but love for his son and their relationship continues to a source of joy for him.

So, there is a time for everything. We are in Cat Spring at my son’s home. Yesterday the General and I joined in the celebrated of our oldest grandson’s birthday. William turned nineteen yesterday and will conclude his first year at Texas A & M by taking his final exams at the Mays business School next week.  Because of concurrent credit earned in high school, he is two years away from college graduation. He is pictured in today’s blog.

His sister, Jenna, who is 20, is finishing her second year at Sam Houston State and because of concurrent credit from high school classes, will begin her Senior year in the fall. 

This morning, I am off to “God only knows where” with Jake and his dad. It is a Saturday morning ritual for them. This is Jake’s sixth year to participate in the National 4-H Shooting Sports Program.  Talk about a long-term commitment for both of them.

I am really proud that Craig and Becky invest whatever it takes to helps their kids fulfill their goals. 

I set alarm for 5:30 this morning. Somehow, I must have unconsciously thought I’d oversleep. I was awake at 2:00 this morning and again at 4:00. It is now approaching 6:20, and I’m just now having my first cup of coffee. It is a great day.  Craig anticipates we will be back to Cat Spring around 3:00 this afternoon.

Jenna is making her Gram a birthday cake this afternoon. I can’t recall what kind of cake, but it reportedly is fairly complicated.  The General doesn’t fair well will early morning departures, so she will visit with Becky, Jenna and William while we are out for the morning.

I anticipate this will be an incredibly good day. What I can’t understand is how my grandchildren are growing up so fast.

All My Best!

Don

Leave a comment