The Black Cat Appeared Out Of Nowhere

In keeping with my commitment to stop doing stupid things and taking better care of myself, I booked a later flight to DC for this morning.  Seriously, a 3:00 a.m. alarm is for men much younger than me. I’m not going to do that any longer. I’m generally awake by 5:00 and that worked for me this morning. I didn’t need an alarm.

I checked the weather. It was 74 degrees outside without rain in the forecast. What a great day for a rag-top-down ride to the airport. I mostly packed everything last night.  Prior to packing, I needed to iron a dress shirt. I normally outsource that, but when I looked in the dry cleaning/laundry bag late last week, there was only one shirt – the one I wanted. 

Who would have thought that I’d ever need a 17 ½ inch collar.  A 16 ½ fits just fine unless I need to button the top button. For wearing a tie, the larger collar works better. If I hold my mouth just right, I can make the smaller size work, but never on the first try.

I finished packing this morning and did a mental inventory for everything I needed. The General always makes a written list, but I pack a lot lighter than she does. I had it covered! I also had time for yogurt and granola before heading out the door. 

I took my meds and headed out the door. Wait!  Something was missing. Where was my phone?  I know I took it out from under my pillow this morning because I checked the weather. So where did I place the phone? I looked everywhere, but it was nowhere to be found. It was not on the vanity in the bathroom or on the shelving in my closet. I had already checked my pocket and it wasn’t there.

I made a mad dash from the kitchen through the bedroom, bathroom, closet, laundry room and back to the kitchen again. I didn’t see my phone.  I obviously was desperate because I awakened the General while I was trying to find her phone so I could call mine.

I slowly retraced my steps back through the house and dialed my number multiple times. I had not yet placed my luggage inside the Miata. It was in the garage.  I dialed my number from the garage and did not hear the ringing of my phone. I was stumped.

I went through my mental checklist and concluded that the phone had to be in my suitcase.  I had carefully looked everywhere else. I took my luggage back into the house and opened the suitcase. I was very relieved to find the phone was there.

I returned the General’s phone, quietly made my way out the door and headed to the airport. The first thing I noticed is that 74 degrees felt cool outside.  I considered rolling the windows up to eradicate some of the wind, but that takes the fun out of driving. I rolled them back down.

I hadn’t gone more than two blocks when a black cat ran out from nowhere in front of my car.  I’m not really a cat person, and it was a little eerie having a black cat in my headlights. Aren’t they supposed to represent bad luck?  I’m not superstitious person and I don’t consider a black cat bad luck. Of course, I consider avoiding cats altogether, good luck. Don’t they smother babies? I’m sure I heard that somewhere in my childhood and made a mental note to be cat-free.

The late-early morning ride to the airport was delightful. There was virtually no traffic. I am at the gate and drinking a large cup of coffee that cost as much as Starbuck, but it isn’t as good.

Top of the morning to you!  I am on my way.

All The Best!

Don

Leave a comment